Obama Campaign Fails to Honor “Unsubscribe” from E-Mail List

Does this mean that Obama’s official campaign spams?

In addition to its other faults, Barack Obama’s official campaign sends what is arguably spam E-mail. We had been a member of my.barackobama.com, but our account was disabled for posting referenced quotations from Obama’s “Dreams From My Father” that demonstrated Obama’s forays into Black Nationalism, referenced excerpts from Michelle Obama’s thesis, and similar material.

Obama’s campaign certainly had every right in the world to exercise editorial control over my.barackobama.com (even though the disclaimer at the bottom of each page says it is not responsible for the content) by deciding that our material was not welcome there. However, we had the equal right to tell the Obama campaign that its E-mails were no longer welcome at our E-mail address. The following screen shot shows that we did so, and this was the second unsubscribe request we placed.

Note “July 5” and a promise that the unsubscribe would be processed within 12 hours.

The address in question is our Hotmail address, which accepts E-mail only from “safe listed” users. Readers who ask, “Why don’t you just take the domain off the safe list” should be reminded that senders of bulk E-mail, and not recipients, are obliged to control their mailing lists and process unsubscribe requests. Telling the recipient to block the E-mails or “just hit delete” has not been acceptable since Apex Global Internet Systems terminated Cyber Promotions Inc.’s account back in 1997, i.e. close to 11 years ago. In fact, it wasn’t considered acceptable even then.

In any event, it is a fact that we are on record as filing an unsubscribe request on July 5. It was not the first, but it its the first of which we have a screen shot. It is also a fact that the response was that the request would be processed within 12 hours. It is also a fact that we received the following, at the unsubscribed address, on July 9. Note:

(1) This is unlikely to be a “Joe Job” or revenge spam, in which a spammer forges someone else’s
domain into the headers of his spam to get them in trouble. Barackobama.com is safe listed for
this E-mail address, and outsiders who might be inclined to revenge-spam this domain are not.
Furthermore, few people even know our Hotmail address, and we edited out of the screen shot we
posted above.

(2) IP address in the E-mail headers below = [ mta1.bluestatedigital.com ].

IMPORTANT: The responsibility to process the unsubscribe request was that of the Obama campaign and not that of Blue State Digital. The Obama campaign evidently failed to do this, which says quite a bit about its character and lack of responsibility.

(3) As a side note, the Obama campaign also felt free to add our PERSONAL E-mail address to
its bulk mailings in response to a criticism of Obama (as opposed to a sign-up). As far as
we know, an E-mail to someone (e.g. info “at” barackobama.com) does not constitute a subscription.

Since the Obama campaign seems to feel that “Just Press Delete” is an acceptable response to an
unsubscribe request, we encourage our readers to do exactly that on November 4. The “Delete” button
says “John McCain.”

X-Message-Delivery: Vj0zLjQuMDt1cz0wO2w9MDthPTA=

X-Message-Status: n:0

X-SID-PRA: Pennsylvanians for Obama <PennsylvaniansforObama@groups.barackobama.com>

X-Message-Info: aVS3Mja3u5gjnP6v7LiTTayIPlWGA4sRdhP8LT5/h4iXG4Cs+QcbwrgjtvV3uIrJ8+LtdGQC+apVdhdmTi/9WQlmXHFH4sn6

Received: from mta1.bluestatedigital.com ([]) by bay0-mc12-f15.bay0.hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.2668);

Wed, 9 Jul 2008 01:11:24 -0700

Received: from mta7.bluestatedigital.com (mta7 [])

by mta1.bluestatedigital.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 95DD23F8048;

Wed, 9 Jul 2008 04:11:14 -0400 (EDT)

Received: from ob3.colo (ob3.colo [])

by mta7.bluestatedigital.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 73DA85040E1;

Wed, 9 Jul 2008 04:09:49 -0400 (EDT)

Received: by ob3.colo (Postfix, from userid 503)

id 90E9B1FE2534C; Wed, 9 Jul 2008 04:09:10 -0400 (EDT)

Received: from obama

by localhost.localdomain with local (PHPMailer);

Wed, 9 Jul 2008 04:09:10 -0400

Date: Wed, 9 Jul 2008 04:09:10 -0400

To: Pennsylvanians for Obama <PennsylvaniansforObama@groups.barackobama.com>

From: Pennsylvanians for Obama <PennsylvaniansforObama@groups.barackobama.com>

Subject: PennsylvaniansforObama Digest, July 9th

Message-ID: <b05e144ffd9c614a6b200d93ff095052@localhost.localdomain>

X-Priority: 3

X-Mailer: PHPMailer [version 1.71-blue_mailer]

MIME-Version: 1.0

Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit

Content-Type: text/plain; charset=”UTF-8″

Return-Path: nobody@bluestatedigital.com

X-OriginalArrivalTime: 09 Jul 2008 08:11:25.0068 (UTC) FILETIME=[616B94C0:01C8E19B]

http://samspade.org/whois/ = [ mta1.bluestatedigital.com ]
(Asked rwhois.ftl.affinity.com:4321 about
network: Class-Name: network network: ID: NETBLK. network: Auth-Area: network: Network-Name: AFFI- network: IP-Network: network: IP-Network-Block: network: Org-Name: Affinity Internet Inc network: Street-Address: 3250 W Commercial Blvd. Suite 200 network: City: Ft Lauderdale

http://samspade.org/whois/ = [ mta7.bluestatedigital.com ]
(Asked whois.arin.net:43 about +

 OrgName:    Internap Network Services Corporation
 OrgID:      PNAP
 Address:    250 Williams Street
 Address:    Suite E100
 City:       Atlanta
 StateProv:  GA
 PostalCode: 30303
 Country:    US
 NetRange: -
 NetName:    PNAP-12-2002
 NetHandle:   NET-69-25-0-0-1
 Parent:     NET-69-0-0-0-0

 OrgAbuseHandle: IAC3-ARIN

> Date: Wed, 9 Jul 2008 04:09:10 -0400
> To: PennsylvaniansforObama@groups.barackobama.com
> From: PennsylvaniansforObama@groups.barackobama.com
> Subject: PennsylvaniansforObama Digest, July 9th
> To send a message to this group, email:
> 	PennsylvaniansforObama@groups.barackobama.com
> When replying, please edit your Subject line so it is more specific
> than "Re: Contents of PennsylvaniansforObama digest..."


Addendum: the Obama campaign's irresponsibility in running a Web site is underscored by its failure to remove libelous material that was reported to it very explicitly. Now we can add spamming to the laundry list.

Libel report at my.barackobama.com

Libel report at my.barackobama.com

The libelous material (false accusation of a crime) is online as of July 9.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Obama Campaign Fails to Honor “Unsubscribe” from E-Mail List”

  1. wingedhussar1683 Says:


    also reports failure to honor removal requests.

    “Besides the fact that (I believe) the emails were not supposed to be all donation emails, they have been.

    So Barack, I am disappointed that you have not removed my email address from your list. While I know you probably outsource this, it is disappointing that my first interactions with you and your campaign are spam-like. “

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: