Obama Refuses to Reject Anti-Semite’s Endorsement Until Cornered like a Rat

The common rat is very adept at dodging and evading, and it took the combined efforts of MSNBC’s Tim Russert and Senator Hillary Clinton to corner a two-legged rodent named Barack Obama long enough to get him to use the word “reject” in conjunction with the endorsement of the prominent racist, anti-Semite, and Catholic-hater Louis Farrakhan of the Nation of Islam.

Transcript of recent Democratic debate in Ohio. Note how Obama equivocates over Farrakhan’s endorsement until backed into a corner.

TIM RUSSERT: On Sunday, the headline in your hometown paper, Chicago Tribune: “Louis Farrakhan Backs Obama for President at Nation of Islam Convention in Chicago.” Do you accept the support of Louis Farrakhan?

SEN. OBAMA: You know, I have been very clear in my denunciation of Minister Farrakhan’s anti-Semitic comments. I think that they are unacceptable and reprehensible. I did not solicit this support. He expressed pride in an African-American who seems to be bringing the country together. I obviously can’t censor him, but it is not support that I sought. And we’re not doing anything, I assure you, formally or informally with Minister Farrakhan.

MR. RUSSERT: Do you reject his support?

SEN. OBAMA: Well, Tim, you know, I can’t say to somebody that he can’t say that he thinks I’m a good guy. (Laughter.) You know, I — you know, I — I have been very clear in my denunciations of him and his past statements, and I think that indicates to the American people what my stance is on those comments.

MR. RUSSERT: The problem some voters may have is, as you know, Reverend Farrakhan called Judaism “gutter religion.”

OBAMA: Tim, I think — I am very familiar with his record, as are the American people. That’s why I have consistently denounced it.

This is not something new. This is something that — I live in Chicago. He lives in Chicago. I’ve been very clear, in terms of me believing that what he has said is reprehensible and inappropriate. And I have consistently distanced myself from him.

[material deleted without loss of continuity with regard to Farrakhan]

…HILLARY CLINTON: I just want to add something here, because I faced a similar situation when I ran for the Senate in 2000 in New York. And in New York, there are more than the two parties, Democratic and Republican. And one of the parties at that time, the Independence Patty, was under the control of people who were anti-Semitic, anti- Israel. And I made it very clear that I did not want their support. I rejected it. I said that it would not be anything I would be comfortable with. And it looked as though I might pay a price for that. But I would not be associated with people who said such inflammatory and untrue charges against either Israel or Jewish people in our country.

As much as we dislike Hillary Clinton, it is obvious that she knows what it means to “reject” the support of an anti-Semitic hate group: “I made it very clear that I did not want their support. I rejected it.” We will see that Barack Obama, even when cornered like a rat, never comes out and says as much about Farrakhan.

And, you know, I was willing to take that stand, and, you know, fortunately the people of New York supported me and I won. But at the time, I thought it was more important to stand on principle and to reject the kind of conditions that went with support like that.

RUSSERT: Are you suggesting Senator Obama is not standing on principle?

CLINTON: No. I’m just saying that you asked specifically if he would reject it. And there’s a difference between denouncing and rejecting. And I think when it comes to this sort of, you know, inflammatory — I have no doubt that everything that Barack just said is absolutely sincere. [This is a politician’s polite way of saying that her opponent is so full of excrement that she could probably sell Obama’s services as a walking manure cart to half the farmers in Ohio.] But I just think, we’ve got to be even stronger. We cannot let anyone in any way say these things because of the implications that they have, which can be so far reaching.

OBAMA: Tim, I have to say I don’t see a difference between denouncing and rejecting. There’s no formal offer of help from Minister Farrakhan that would involve me rejecting it. But if the word “reject” Senator Clinton feels is stronger than the word “denounce,” then I’m happy to concede the point, and I would reject and denounce.

CLINTON: Good. Good. Excellent.

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Obama Refuses to Reject Anti-Semite’s Endorsement Until Cornered like a Rat”

  1. sonofgold Says:

    What a stretch

    http://sonofgold.wordpress.com/2008/02/27/re-obama-i-denounce-and-reject-farrakhan/

    This is how I feel about the issue

  2. wingedhussar1683 Says:

    “MR. RUSSERT: Do you reject his support?”

    At this point, a simple YES would have sufficed, instead of a long and rambling answer.

  3. Israpundit » Blog Archive » Obama Embraces Anti-Semites and Racists while NJDC berates Hagee Says:

    […] Linda Berg complains, “”It took a lot for McCain to Finally Reject Hagee’s Endorsement.” We note that, not only did McCain not join Hagee’s church or remain in it for twenty years while Hagee and his official newsletter spewed blood libels of Israel and the United States (Hagee did neither, we are comparing him to Jeremiah Wright), and worse. McCain did not ask for Hagee’s endorsement the way Obama has solicited Al Sharpton and MoveOn.org Now let’s see what it took to get Barack Obama to reject the endorsement of the prominent raci…. […]

Leave a Reply

